Mushrooms. June 2: time enough 

Mushrooms are cheap at Coles in Footscray. Well, yesterday afternoon anyway. Today, who knows? Mars and I had gone for a walk to Little Saigon to see if there were bargain bags to be had. Many bargains. No mushies on special. All around $10-11 kg. Which is fair enough. Mushies are usually at $13-14 at the bigger supermarkets. Meh. What ever.Headed over to FM (Footscray Market) but realised they were closed.

Grabbed a steamed bun each:

Mars had chicken. I had BBQ pork.

Wandered over to Cheaper By Miles. Many bargains. No mushies on special. 

Wandered over to the Coles. Realised that that the 4 pack pre-packed corn and the 250g pre-packed mushrooms were most excellently priced. 50c a cob for corn. $7 a kilo for mushies. I was, WTF? Mars was, yum, corn. Loaded up and headed off.

Which brings me to now. 

My friends are often surprised at my mushroom food preparation methods.
First, stems. Break off. Can be fried and added with white meat. Or diced and added with the garlic. 
Second, skin. Remove the skin and freeze. I keep the skins for the white truffle soup (or any mushroom soup) for midwinter.
Third, flesh. I freeze them loose for a couple of days to zap a bit of the moisture, using the frost free freezer. Then bag em.

~ by mopz on June 2, 2015.

Leave a comment